replacing trx 70 brake pads

desertskyz

degreased & pressure washed the frame & other parts to be painted...

post-3-1260859413_thumb.jpg

I have to replace to rear brake pads. And quite honestly, I have know Idea what I'm doing. I got off the wheels and the cover around the brake., now I need to take pins and all that stuff off. but once that is done I have to get to the shoes. I did get the cover off. (stupid bolts, 3 12mm and 3 10mm) :xmas_grin: anyway, I can't figure out how to get that cover (as seen in this pic) off.

I know this is easy for you guys, but I have never done this before, so it takes A LOT longer. I guess I'm just whining. Did get the gas tank cleaned. It still looks like yukie inside to me. But I was told, just buy some new filfters, run it then change the filters again and I should be good for awhile.

How about a new take? 190.00 for a new one. not sure yet.

Edited by desertskyz

I have to replace to rear brake pads. And quite honestly, I have know Idea what I'm doing. I got off the wheels and the cover around the brake., now I need to take pins and all that stuff off. but once that is done I have to get to the shoes. I did get the cover off. (stupid bolts, 3 12mm and 3 10mm) :laughing: anyway, I can't figure out how to get that cover (as seen in this pic) off.

I know this is easy for you guys, but I have never done this before, so it takes A LOT longer. I guess I'm just whining. Did get the gas tank cleaned. It still looks like yukie inside to me. But I was told, just buy some new filfters, run it then change the filters again and I should be good for awhile.

How about a new take? 190.00 for a new one. not sure yet.

You can use muriatic acid to clean the tank and then buy the Kreem tank sealer to coat it after that. I did the acid, but did not leave it in long enough, only a few hours and it did a ton. I think Pete and some others left it in for a couple days and had even better results.