People from Vegas.

ngoodey

I'm new to Vegas so I was wondering the easiest ride to Dumont from here. I was going there from Pahrump which I can do was just trying to avoid the huge hill coming back. I've seen some people going down Tecopa road. I have an older motorhome pulling a double stacked trailer with 2 rails so just looking for the least amount of climbing even if I have to drive a little longer.

Tecopa Rd. is much narrower and has a very tight section in it. I have seen many people take motorhomes, and big haulers through there. they are MUCH braver then I am. I think the hill is easier going Tecopa, but you still get the pass going up Blue Diamond. Depending on where you are, I-15 might be a good option. I only have a small 2 space ATV trailer so my trip is pretty easy still.

Bottom line, there is a mountain range there, and you have to go over it somewhere, some how.

Good quote i heard once was something like, "this thing maybe slow, but all the fast stuff is in the trailer." It's not a race to get there so be safe.

Yep tight hairpins on that road in one section...other than that you still get some of the incline back up to blue diamond pass even going the tecopa route on the way back from dumont....there is a dump for RVs in tecopa though I think, so that is nice.....I will say on my last trip I saw a huge bus RV with 17 ft trailer hauling a$$ on the tecopa route

Edited by flavtfan

Tecopa Rd. is much narrower and has a very tight section in it. I have seen many people take motorhomes, and big haulers through there. they are MUCH braver then I am. I think the hill is easier going Tecopa, but you still get the pass going up Blue Diamond. Depending on where you are, I-15 might be a good option. I only have a small 2 space ATV trailer so my trip is pretty easy still.

Bottom line, there is a mountain range there, and you have to go over it somewhere, some how.